Story is that Geoff Bodine’s fiance (of six years?…

Story is that Geoff Bodine’s fiance (of six years?) died last week. His ex-wife died earlier this year in Florida. For those who don’t know him, Geoff Bodine is a NASCAR driver who won the Daytona 500 in 1986. Over the past 10 years he has had incredibly bad luck(making one think of a curse), but he did survive a horrific crash at Daytona two years ago–so personally he has something going for him. He finished third in the Daytona 500 this year and is racing at Talladega this Sunday. The story about his fiance appears on one of the original blogs, Jayski.com, a site dedicated to Winston Cup Racing rumors:

Sad News: during an interview on FX’s tape delayed qualifying show from Talladega, Dr. Dick Derggren interviewed Geoffrey Bodine, driver of the #09 Miccosukee Indian Gaming Ford (qualified 23rd) who said (paraphrasing as best as I can) – “This is really a tough time for me Dick. I had a birthday yesterday, but I also had a tragedy in my life, my fiancée of 6 years died last week. So I’m.standing here with mixed emotions, such a good car, and a good run and a lot of opportunity here, but my heart’s really hurting right now, but we will get through the weekend. Angela would want me to be here, so we’re here. But, we’re gonna miss her. Going to be hard to get through this, but we will.”

 

 

"Michael Dubruiel"

