Congratulations to Bishop Robert Baker, New Bishop of Birmingham, AL

When I was in Birmingham, AL last January I visited the EWTN studios and later joined the Franciscan Friars for evening prayer in the chapel. At the end of Vespers, we prayed another prayer–a novena for a good bishop–little did I know that God would answer that prayer by sending a bishop I know well.

In the Spring, I joined Bishop Baker at the Religious Life Institute Conference in Chicago, where he was the keynote, bringing copies of his latest book The Questioner’s Prayer for him to sign afterwards. While sitting at a table with Bishop Baker at the table where he was signing copies, some brothers from the EWTN community came up, (0ne who I know fairly well and have had a number of conversations with before). The topic dicussed? Who would be their next bishop.  The irony of the way things work.

The installation will be on October 2nd, Feast of the Guardian Angels. I know the bishop would appreciate everyone’s prayers. 

From Charlotte was Both, Amy’s New Blog:

Bishop Baker is a old friend of Michael’s, and he baptized Michael the Toddler in a memorable ceremony in a church in central Ohio that is probably still echoing from then 3 1/2 year old Joseph’s energy burst that seemed to come out of nowhere, but went straight into the annals of….something.

"Michael Dubruiel"Bishop Baker has worked with Michael on two books – one lovely, hardbound book he wrote with Fr. Benedict Groeschel  on Matthew 25 – When Did We See You, Lord  (in

 

 fact this was the book Fr. Groeschel was working on when he had his terrible accident in Orlando several years ago, which delayed its completion, but thanks to Fr. Groeschel’s strength in recovery, it did get finished. More details on that story, as well on the icons – written by the iconographer whose work we saw in the church in Conyers – at the Amazon link. )

More recently, Bishop Baker wrote The Questioner’s Prayer a very nice book of meditations based on, well…questions.

 I’m sure everyone in Birmingham – including EWTN – is very pleased to finally – after 2 1/2 years – to have a new bishop!

 

"Michael Dubruiel"

11 Responses

  1. As I wrote earlier this morning, it is with joy we had him for our bishop and with sorrow-but with warm wishes- we send him to Birmingham.

    We will miss Bishop Baker here. He has done much good and is tireless as a shepard.

    God bless him! (and now we need to pray for another good bishop here!)

    Jim

  2. Sounds good to me. Of course, Bishop Baker will be in St. Augustine, Florida to celebrate the Founder’s Day Mass on September 1st. Just in case you’re passing by.

  3. Here in Alabama we’re doing a happy dance! Praise God!

  4. I thinik that’ll be a good time to pass by! See you then, Mary Jane!

  5. […] Congratulations to Bishop Robert Baker, New Bishop of Birmingham, AL When I was in Birmingham, AL last January I visited the EWTN studios and later joined the Franciscan Friars […] […]

  6. […] Congratulations to Bishop Robert Baker, New Bishop of Birmingham, AL When I was in Birmingham, AL last January I visited the EWTN studios and later joined the Franciscan Friars […] […]

  7. […] Congratulations to Bishop Robert Baker, New Bishop of Birmingham, AL When I was in Birmingham, AL last January I visited the EWTN studios and later joined the Franciscan Friars […] […]

  8. Praise GOD that Bishop Baker will be in Birmingham where we NEED a strong Bishop like Bishop Baker to close down the cult of Caritas! HE IS ANSWER TO the PRAYERS of MANY !

  9. glad to see so many responses to your articles

  10. I would like to say, thank God for EWTN it has changed my life in many ways, as I housebound with agorophobia, I now pray at least three hours each day, from 12 noon to 3.30, starting with the Angelus,Rosary Divine Mercy, ect.
    I live in London UK,and now I have told all my friends both hear and in Ireland to have Sky Tel installed so that they too can have this wonderful channel EWTN.
    May God bless you all, esp Mother Angelica all the Priests who say the mass each day, and for all who are involved with EWTN, love you all God Bless.

  11. Father Baker, I am from St. Augustine and would like to know what I need to do to be in good standing with the Catholic Church. I contacted a couple of priests, but they seemed to feel all I needed to do was go to confession and start going to church again. Through the years I have heard varying information that I need to do more…What do you suggest… You had already left when I began attending Church again and have started receiving communion. Am I in the wrong with the information I received ???

    I converted to Judism at the insistance of my husband at the time with great pain, but felt it was important to him and a good marriage. I later learned it was a marriage of control and have been divorced and remarried for over 10 years…..Very Happily ! I am more christian than ever having been through the pain of that family..What do you suggest I do to regain proper Good standing as a confirmed Catholic and having grown-up in the Catholic Church ?

Comments are closed.

